Welcome

This is the blog of children's book author and third grade teacher, Stacy Barnett Mozer. I blog about my own writing journey, the journey of other kidlit authors, my classroom, and talk about books. Thanks for stopping by. Your thoughts are always welcome (and encouraged).

Monday, March 26, 2018

#IMWAYR March 26, 2018


Each week I try to join Jen from Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee from Unleashing Readers to share all of the reading I've done over the week from picture books to young adult novels. A few more of the YA books I put on hold at my library came in so it was another YA week.


Young Adult


The story follows Arram Draper, along with his friends Prince Ozorne and Varice, as they move through years of school learning to be powerful magicians and good people. It's a YA book for fans of Harry Potter and Game of Thrones.



When Ivy League bound Justyce McAllyster is handcuffed for trying to help his drunk ex-girlfriend, he starts to question everything around him through letters to Martin Luther King, Jr. A powerful story that asks important questions of equality and justice. This is a must-read book for teens and adults from every background.
_______________


Stacy Barnett Mozer is a teacher and a middle grade author. If you like what she's been reading follow her on Goodreads. Please leave a comment below. 

It's Monday, what are you reading?

Monday, March 19, 2018

#IMWAYR March 19, 2018


Each week I try to join Jen from Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee from Unleashing Readers to share all of the reading I've done over the week from picture books to young adult novels. A few of the YA books I put on hold at my library came in so it was a YA week.


Young Adult


When Jude was only a child, her mother's former husband killed her parents and took her twin sister and his daughter back with him to Faerie. Instead of rejecting the world she was forced to live in, Jude has decided to become better than the beautiful strong faeries that surround her. Her fight for recognition puts her in the center of a war for the throne. 


In this world, time is currency. When Jules realizes that her father has given most of his time in order to keep her feed and warm, she decides to get a job in Everless, the home of a wealthy family where she and her father used to live until circumstances put them in danger.  She is sure she won't be recognized, but things quickly fall apart when the two brothers she spent time with as a child figure out who she is and she realizes that there may be other reasons why her father kept her from staying at this place. A complicated, exciting adventure.
_______________


Stacy Barnett Mozer is a teacher and a middle grade author. If you like what she's been reading follow her on Goodreads. Please leave a comment below. 

It's Monday, what are you reading?

Monday, March 12, 2018

#IMWAYR March 12, 2018


Each week I try to join Jen from Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee from Unleashing Readers to share all of the reading I've done over the week from picture books to young adult novels. Life has gotten in the way of weekly posting. Fortunately it has not gotten in the way of reading. Here's what I've been reading since my last post at the end of January.



Middle Grade


I am always looking for series for my Harry Potter fans and this is one I think they will enjoy. Denizen Hardwick is an orphan who is living in an orphanage because he has no family to speak of - or so he thought. When a mysterious aunt sends for him, Denizen quickly learns that he is no ordinary boy and that the family that abandoned him may have been trying to protect him. In book two, he has more challenges to face and more secrets to overcome. I'm looking forward to the next one.


This is another series that Harry Potter book 5 - 7 fans would enjoy. Danny's parents have always treated going out into storms as if they were trying to study an enemy. When he wakes up one morning and finds them gone, he is confused, but not surprised. That is until he picks up a stick and hears the tree in front of his house give her dying words. With the stick, Danny can talk to all kinds of things and the grass and his next door neighbors cat send him off on a journey to find his parents that will lead to many more unbelievable and dangerous things.

Young Adult


This dark historical fantasy from Libba Bray is as scary as a Stephen King novel. Full of great characters and some romance, fans of the Diviners will not be disappointed.


Book two of the Scythe series was not what I expected, but definitely the book I wanted to read. In Thunder Head, we learn more about this dystopian future and discover even more flaws in this "perfect" world. I think readers will be surprised by the ending. I can't wait for the next one.
_______________


Stacy Barnett Mozer is a teacher and a middle grade author. If you like what she's been reading follow her on Goodreads. Please leave a comment below. 

It's Monday, what are you reading?