Welcome

This is the blog of children's book author and third grade teacher, Stacy Barnett Mozer. I blog about my own writing journey, the journey of other kidlit authors, my classroom, and talk about books. Thanks for stopping by. Your thoughts are always welcome (and encouraged).

Monday, April 16, 2018

#IMWAYR April 16, 2018


Each week I try to join Jen from Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee from Unleashing Readers to share all of the reading I've done over the week from picture books to young adult novels. Last week was April break so I had lots of time to read. I finished a great YA series and a highly anticipated (by me and my students) middle grade sequel.


Middle Grade


My third graders read The Wild Robot for Global Read Aloud in October, so I couldn't wait to get my hands on the sequel. It didn't disappoint. Besides getting to see more of Roz the robot and her adopted goose Brightbill, readers get to learn more about this future world where robots are an essential part of everyday life and are slaves to the people. Not a big deal for a non-thinking machine, but very difficult for a robot with a family.

Young Adult


I read all three books in the Splintered series this vacation. It's the story of Alyssa, a descendant of Alice, the girl from Wonderland. But the Alice in this series didn't simply come back to our world after hanging out in a rabbit hole, she changed the course of Wonderland history, dooming her descendants to madness. Helped by her human love Jeb and Wonderland love Morpheus, Alyssa must face the horrors of Wonderland as her love for both men literally rips her heart in half. As a reader of this series, don't be surprised if your dreams are full of Wonderland, for better or worse. I enjoyed all of them but the third book, Ensnared, was my favorite in the series.

_______________


Stacy Barnett Mozer is a teacher and a middle grade author. If you like what she's been reading follow her on Goodreads. Please leave a comment below. 

It's Monday, what are you reading?

Monday, April 2, 2018

#IMWAYR April 2, 2018


It doesn't feel like April with all the snow on the ground, but here is my first April #IMWAYR post. Each week I try to join Jen from Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee from Unleashing Readers to share all of the reading I've done over the week from picture books to young adult novels. 


Middle Grade


Nisha is a 12 year old girl living in India in 1947, right as India is being split into two countries, India and Pakistan. Since Pakistan was created as a Muslim country, Nisha's family, as Hindus, aren't welcome. They must escape into the night to save themselves from  the growing tension and violence erupting around them. Told in diary entries to her deceased mother, The Night Diary is a window book about a time period and situation few children (and adults) know well.


Young Adult


In a future United Kingdom, Jenna Strong has been placed in maximum security prison for killing her parents. When a group of people break Jenna out of prison, she starts to learn that the governing body called ACID, is not the perfect society she thought she lived in and in fact, it may be the leaders of ACID that killed her parents. An exciting dystopian novel for readers who enjoyed The Maze Runner and Divergent.

_______________


Stacy Barnett Mozer is a teacher and a middle grade author. If you like what she's been reading follow her on Goodreads. Please leave a comment below. 

It's Monday, what are you reading?